Sony Creative Science Award 2020

Junior WhizKid Category

Recipients of the Junior WhizKid (P1 & 2) category Merit Award each received a certificate and Sony product vouchers:

No.	Name of School	Name of Student	Level	Name of Toy	Prizes	Sony Vouchers
1	Global Indian International School (East Coast)	Aahaan Choudury	P1	Springsper "Spring out of the box"	Special Award	\$150
2	East Spring Primary School	Wakodikar Avyan	P1	P1 Ultimate Striker "Game to go"		\$150
3	Anchor Green Primary School	Tan Yukai, Matthias	P2	Dragon "Creative Design"	Special Award	\$150
4	Yew Tee Primary School	Pang Jia Le, Rafael	P1	Seed Race	Merit	\$100
5	Yew Tee Primary School	Chow Jing En	P1	Marble Shooting Basketball	Merit	\$100
6	Haig Girls' School	Isabel Ethel Larsson	P1	S.S.P.R (Singapore Spring Powered Rocket)	Merit	\$100
7	Global Indian International School (Smart Campus)	Kimaya Thorat	P2	Shoot in Hoop	Merit	\$100
8	DPS International School	Akkaraveettil Nanditha Nair	P2	Woodpecker Toy (Bird)	Merit	\$100
9	DPS International School	Naisha Menon	P2	Racy Monster Cars	Merit	\$100
10	Rosyth School	Azeem Bin Aeiziyan	P2	Spiderman Shooter	Merit	\$100
11	Bukit Panjang Primary School	Sng Ler Xi, Rexus	P1	Pointball	Merit	\$100

WhizKid Category

Winners of the WhizKid (P3 – 6) category each received a certificate on top of the following prizes respectively

No.	Name of School	Name of Student	Level	Name of Toy	Prizes (SCSA Toy Submitted)	Sony Vouchers	Special Awards
1	Alexandra Primary	Cenzina Pezzaniti	P5	Gear It Up	Merit	\$100	
2	School	Yap Jyan	P5	Tesseract	Third Prize	\$300	
3	Springdale Primary School	Kasper Lin Jie Yi	P4	Jesper, the caterpillar	Commendation	\$150	Simplicity Award
4		Jayden Yap Jun Yi	P5	Marble Race	Merit	\$100	
5	Nan Hua Primary School	Jairus Chen Jieren & Javier Oon Kai Jie	P5	Electro Machine	Merit	To share \$100	
6		Tivon Hong Shengyao	P4	Diamond Heist	Merit	\$100	
7	West Spring Primary School	Alya Adrianna Binte Shahrul Hizam	Р3	Butterfly	Commendation	\$150	Simplicity Award
8	East Spring Primary School	Ng Yi Xuan, Evan	P4	Plinko Ball Drop	Second Prize	\$600	
9	Anchor Green Primary School	Santhanraj Sai Adhithya	P5	Crawl Bot (The Climber)	Commendation	\$150	Engineering Award
10	Greenridge Primary School	Timothy Yeo	P4	Gravity Pikachu	Commendation	\$150	Engineering Award
11	Cedar Primary School	The Gui Zhi, Erica	P5	Spin & Throw	Merit	\$100	
12	Anglo-Chinese School (Junior)	Kwong Yi Ern, Daniel	Р3	Virus Repel!	Commendation	\$150	Educational Award
13	Pei Chun Public School	Lee Jian Hao	P4	Ferris Wheel Run	Merit	\$100	
14	Dazhong Primary School	Muhammad Faris Afkar Mohamad Sharil	P5	Omniscient Hipster Projector (OHP)	Merit	\$100	

15	Global Indian International School (East Coast)	Bhavika Kakkat	P5	Magneto - Dancer	Merit	\$100	
16	DPS International School	Pradyumna Bhat	P4	Sphere in the Spinner	Merit	\$100	
17	Maha Bodhi School	Lee Chong Jin, lan	P5	The Wobble Topple Park	First Prize	\$1,000	

School Awards

Schools that produced the top three winners in the WhizKid (P3 – 6 category) and WhizKid category received cash prizes and a certificate.

Schools of Top Winners	Award	Name of the School's Student Winner	Amount
Maha Bodhi School	First	Lee Chong Jin, lan	\$ 1,000.00
East Spring Primary School	Second	Ng Yi Xuan, Evan	\$ 600.00
Alexandra Primary School	Third	Yap Jyan	\$ 300.00

For SCSA 2020, a school won an award for the Most Number of shortlisted toys for the WhizKid (P3-P6). There was, however, a tie between two schools for the most Number of Shortlisted Toys for Junior WhizKid (P1-P2) category. The two schools shared the prize equally.

Schools Producing Most Number of Shortlisted Toys				
Category	School	No. of toys	Amount	
Junior WhizKid (Joint Winner)	Yew Tee Primary School	2 out of 11	\$ 500.00	
Junior WhizKid (Joint Winner)	DPS International School	2 out of 11	\$ 500.00	
Whizkid	Nan Hua Primary School	3 out of 17	\$ 1,000.00	

Blue Ribbon & Diamond Awards

There were 42 Blue Ribbon recipients, and each were given a certificate. 2 Diamond Award recipients received a certificate and a trophy to recognise their contributions.

Currently, the criteria for SCSA Blue Ribbon Award are:

- Teacher was instrumental in organising the SCSA (Schools) Competition.
- The award is NOT restricted to science teachers or HOD science. All teachers who had played a part in organising the SCSA (Schools) Competition are eligible.
- Not applicable to School Support Staff (eg. Allied Educators, lab technicians, technical staff, etc)
- One school can nominate maximum of three teachers for each award.
- the influence teachers have on their students in the SCSA (Schools) Competition.
- the role of teachers in motivating their students.
- the role teachers play in guiding, mentoring, and advising students

The criteria for the SCSA Diamond Award are:

- Received at least two Blue Ribbon Awards prior.
- Recipients will only be eligible to receive the Diamond Award once based on his/her two sets (or more) of Blue-Ribbon Awards. Another Diamond Award is given based on the next set of Blue-Ribbon awards.
- have been involved in SCSA for at least 3 years and active for the last 2 consecutive years (e.g. applied for Diamond Award in 2018, must be active in 2017 and 2018, and one other year).
- emphasizes awareness and participation of students in the SCSA competition; and
- displayed a track record of improving students' achievements, using innovative out of-classroom programme/activity.
- demonstrate mentorship of another 'Blue Ribbon' recipient

Blue Ribbon Recipients

	Misson Recipients		
No	School	Salutation	Nominee
1	Alexandra Primary School	Ms	Ng Peck Yong
2	Alexandra Primary School	Ms	Chew Ee Lin Ellene
3	Anchorgreen Primary School	Mdm	Siti Nursyakila
4	Anchorgreen Primary School	Mr	Gordon Chua
5	Bukit Panjang Primary School	Mrs	Phyllis Lim
6	Bukit Panjang Primary School	Mr	Kwan Siew Tung
7	Cedar Primary School	Mdm	Karen Thiang Soo Cheng
8	Changkat Primary School	Mdm	Tan Huaying Maybelline
9	CHIJ (Kellock)	Ms	Amirinazeb Aurangzeb
10	Dazhong Primary School	Mr	Benny Weng Loong Saik
11	Dazhong Primary School	Mr	Syed Imran Jamaludin
12	DPS International School	Ms	Vyjayanthi Srinivasan
13	DPS International School	Ms	Pousali Bhattacharya
14	East Spring Primary School	Ms	Nur Huda Binte Ismail
15	Global Indian International School, East Coast	Dr	Nidhi Goyal
16	Global Indian International School, East Coast	Ms	Vinita Menezes
17	Global Indian International School, East Coast	Ms	L. Nithya Kumareswari
18	Global Indian International School, Smart Campus	Ms	Anubha Mehta
19	Global Indian International School, Smart Campus	Mrs	Arunasree Gottivedu
20	Global Indian International School, Smart Campus	Ms	Ruchika Shabi
21	Greenridge Primary School	Mrs	Ng-Poh You Ting
22	Horizon Primary School	Mdm	Enn Cai Ying
23	Horizon Primary School	Mdm	Nur Ainninah Binte Noor Muhamed
24	Horizon Primary School	Mr	Chia Der Sheng
25	Keming Primary School	Mr	Michael Sim Moh Ngiat
26	Keming Primary School	Ms	Evelyn Lim Siew Hsien
27	Kong Hwa School	Mdm	Sharifah Warda Bte SMA
28	Lotus Bridge International School	Ms	Asvin Kaur

29	Lotus Bridge International School	Ms	Faryal Jan
30	Lotus Bridge International School	Ms	Wong Lai Bing
31	Madrasah Wak Tanjong Al-Islamiah	Mr	Amir Irsyad Khan bin Abdul Hamid Khan
32	Madrasah Wak Tanjong Al-Islamiah	Mdm	Mazda bte Mustajab
33	Pei Chun Public School	Mr	Desmond Cheong Weng San
34	Pei Chun Public School	Mr	Kua Li Wei Benjamin
35	Rosyth School	Mdm	Noor Haidah Mohamed Sall
36	Rosyth School	Ms	Lim Swee Ching
37	Rosyth School	Mdm	Koh Mui Lee Evelyn
38	Springdale Primary School	Ms	Shereen Seah
39	Tampines Primary School	Mr	Kang Teck Beng
40	Yew Tee Primary School	Mdm	Sum Wai Fun
41	Yew Tee Primary School	Mr	Wong Wei Xiang Darren
42	Yew Tee Primary School	Mdm	Joyce Lim Ying Ying

Diamond Award Recipients

No	School	Salutation	Nominee
1	Global Indian International School, East Coast	Ms	Venisha Sharad
2	Tanjong Katong Primary School	Mr	Subramaniyan Senthil